Career Poem Winner

Career Poem WinnerKaitlyn Chambers, a 7th grade student at DeForest Area Middle School, was the 1st Place Winner of the 2011 Wisconsin State Poster and Poetry Contest – Middle School Division.  The event is sponsored by the Wisconsin Career Development Association (WCDA).  Her winning entry has been placed on the WCDA website www.wcda.org, and was put on display at the 2012 Careers Conference held last week in Madison.  In addition, Kaitlyn received a certificate and congratulations gift from WCDA in the mail.

Kaitlyn was given the opportunity to enter the contest through her 7th grade English class taught by Jen Parker, and was submitted by school counselor Judi Walsh.

Kaitlyn’s poem, “When I Am Older,” has also been submitted to the National Career Development Association (NCDA) in the Middle School category.  National awards will be given to the first, second, and third place winners in the six divisions in both the Poetry and Poster Contests.

National winners will be recognized with the winning entries placed on the NCDA website, www.ncda.org, by April 20.  The winning entries will also be on display at the Annual Global Conference to be held in Atlanta, Georgia, June 21-23, 2012.  In addition, National winners will receive from the National Career Development Association, a certificate and a special congratulations gift.

Below is her winning poem:

When I Am Older

Kaitlyn Chambers

When I am older

I dream I’ll be

A famous author

Who lives near the sea.

Many books I’ll write

And people I’ll meet

Who’ll print my adventures

When they’re complete.

I’ll travel the world

In each place I’ll receive

The ideas I need

For the stories I weave.

I’ll have a good life

Living to the extreme

Because I’m an author

I’m living my dream!

Leave a Reply

