Elmer McLaughlin Memorial Band Concert

On Thursday, May 8 at 7 pm, the DAHS Music Department is hosting the Elmer McLaughlin Memorial Band Concert.  Elmer was the DAHS band director from 1933-1977.  Four former DeForest Band directors will be conducting at the concert including David Buehler, Nathan Pierce, Mark Sieger, and Richard Fellenz. Linda Meier and Claire Ma (former choral directors) will also be in attendance . The concert will highlight the rich history in music at DeForest.   Orrie Walsvik, Elmer’s grandson, will be the emcee at the concert.
poster_ELMERMCLAUGHLINconcert2014

One comment

  1. Mac was the greatest influence on me while in school growing up in the DeForest area. He started teaching me drum lessons when I was in the 4th grade and I was the last chair drummer in the senior high school band at the end of my 5th grade. He taught me that failure was never an option! He got me thinking big at a young age and I loved the success that I was part of right through my high school graduation.
    While in business I used many techniques he taught me and they worked like a charm.
    He was one of the finest men I have ever met in my life!

Leave a Reply

