DAMS 2018 youth government

DAMS eighth graders attend 53rd Annual Dane County Youth Government Day

On April 19, twenty eighth graders from DeForest Area Middle School attended the 53rd Annual Dane County Youth Government Day at the courthouse in Madison.  Rich Hankins and Wayne Noltemeyer, from the DeForest American Legion, also attended. The DAMS students along with students from schools throughout Dane County were welcomed by Dane County Executive, Joe Parisi. Parisi spoke with students about the importance of understanding and being involved in local government.

Throughout the day, students learned about the history of Dane County, the organization of its government, and the current county officials. Some of the offices students visited and learned about included: Public Safety Building, Courthouses, District Attorney’s Office, Clerk of Courts, Treasurer, County Clerk, Medical Examiner, Sheriff, and Register of Deeds. Students also learned about the process for jury selection.  The day concluded with a deputy from the Dane County K-9 unit, Keith Kelly, and his dogs, Rico and Casey.  Mr. Kelly talked to the students about how the older, Rico, and the younger, Casey, were trained. He also described all the ways in which these two police dogs help the Dane County Sheriff’s Department provide safety to the citizens.

American Legion Representatives guided the tours and the local DeForest Legion made a contribution to cover a boxed lunch for the DAMS students attending. American Legion representatives also shared information about opportunities they provide for students, including Scholarships. “A special thanks to the DeForest American Legion for their longstanding partnership with DeForest Area Middle School in providing our students with educational opportunities such as the Dane County Youth Government Day,” said 8th grade social studies teacher Greg Vandehey.

Pictured above: back row (L to R): Wayne Noltemeyer, Zachary Rogers, Grace Chujor, Owen Thoms, Josh Jensen, Shyann Roundy, Chloe Ebert, Jenna Voegeli, Caleb Jansen, Grady Blackeledge, Lauren Wilde, Avery Hargrove, Greg Vandehey, Rich Hankins; front row: Jake Barger, Faye Vang, Rachael West, Claire Nelson, Katelyn Meinholz, Amber Beckman, Gracie McLean, Skyler Voung, Juan Avila

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s